MEET INCOMING CORPS: Seamus McGuire

Seamus McGuireName:  Seamus McGuire
Hometown: Concord, NH
School/Major/Focus: The University of New Hampshire/ Psychology 

Q: How did you hear about City Year?

I heard about City Year along time ago when I saw some commercials on television advertising it. More recently my college career advisor was able to provide me with more information on the program. From there I was able to determine that City Year looks like a wonderful opportunity to make a positive impact in the Manchester community.

Q: How do you think this year will connect with your long-term goals or career path?

After graduating from UNH I’m thinking about attending grad school for either public health or maybe even for counseling/psychology. Perhaps even pursuing a career in law enforcement. Whatever path I choose I know that by participating as a corps member that I will be able to enhance my people skills and my ability to work with children.

Q: What are you most excited about for your corps year?

I’m most excited about getting to know a bunch of new people and for the opportunity to work as a team to help make better happen in the Manchester area.

Q: What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever gotten that you’re going to keep with you for next year?

A cool piece of advice that I’ve heard recently is one that people hear a lot on airplanes:

“Make sure you have your own mask on, before helping others with theirs.”

Q: Complete this prompt: I can #makebetterhappen by…. Giving my all to the people that I serve and work with. I hope that we all can make better happen together!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment