MEET INCOMING CORPS: ABBY PAPINCHAK

Abby Name: Abby Papinchak
Hometown: Doylestown, Pennsylvania
College/Major: University of Vermont/Elementary Education with a concentration in Spanish, Religion and Sociology

Q: How did you hear about City Year?  

During my sophomore year, I was required to take a class called “Social, Historical, and Philosophical Foundations of Education” with a professor that I had never heard of before. This class and this professor changed my entire outlook on education. I met with her one day that same year, seeking out her guidance and support to help me plan out my life after graduation. She told me that City Year would be a good fit for me, and since then I have made getting into City Year my main priority.

Q: How do you think this year will connect with your long-term goals or career path? 

I watched my mom get ready in the mornings to teach, and it was obvious to me that I would one day follow her path when I was “grown up”. In my opinion, I’m not grown up yet, mainly because I remember thinking that grown-ups had it all figured out when I was a little girl. I contemplated teaching directly after college, but I knew that I was not ready to choose a specific area to teach in for potentially the rest of my life. I want to be an elementary school teacher in a low-income community, so this upcoming year will undoubtedly build up my confidence level to fulfill this goal.

Q: What are you most excited about for your corps year?

I’m excited to be a part of a diverse, supportive team of corps members. I know I’ll never be alone despite the fact that I’ll be far away from friends and family.

Q: What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever gotten that you’re going to keep with you for next year?

Before I went to Spain, my best friend that I’ve had since sixth grade told me the following:

“Be confident in yourself and your abilities because you are capable of more than you know.”

I think I’ll keep that with me as I continue on to this next chapter of my life.

Q: Complete this prompt: I can #makebetterhappen by… showing my students how much I genuinely care about them and their abilities

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MEET INCOMING CORPS: ABBY PAPINCHAK

  1. Susan Filipek says:

    As Abby’s mentor teacher this year I saw what dedication she brought to her students. She gives everything 100% and provides is a positive role model for her students! Good luck Abby!!

Leave a Reply

