New Year, New You…Goals for the Rest of My City Year

By Savannah Siders, corps member serving at McDonough Elementary School

Savannah blog 1Happy New Year, New Hampshire! A resolution, according to the dictionary, is a course of action determined or decided on. Many people start the New Year with a resolution, whether it is to get healthier, or to read more, or to give up drinking diet sodas. Wonderful! That’s a start. But working towards making those resolutions true is not just one giant step, it is many smaller goals. Small goals are what are so rewarding about moving towards larger goals. They’re like little tasks that you can check off your goal to-do list when you complete them. And nothing is more satisfying than crossing things off of your to-do list.

Savannah blog 2This year I have plenty of service related goals as well as personal goals. In my personal life, I am striving for optimal health, so my goals include things like taking my vitamins every day and  getting a gym membership (and using it!). Along with being healthier, I want to transition into a more natural and environmentally friendly state of living. I also want to get better at reaching my goals.Savannah blog 3

My service related goals for the next five months are numerous and I am so excited to get back into service so I can start working towards them. In my head, I’ve split them into two lists, Academic and Interpersonal. Academically, I want my students to not only do well, but to do their best. I want to help them improve their grades by being a motivator for them. I want all of  my English Language Arts focus list students to improve their reading proficiency by at least one proficiency level and I want my Math focus list students to be able to grasp concepts more quickly. Relationship wise, I want to get to know my students more. I want them to look to me as someone that can help them when they need a helping hand. I want them to feel comfortable telling me things and asking for advice if necessary. And I want them to realize that I am totally and fully committed to their success.Savannah blog 4

The most important thing about goals, though, is maintaining their achievability. You can do that by making sure that you keep track of your goals and write them down. Break your goals into smaller, more achievable steps. Most importantly, you must always keep your goals in mind. Make every action deliberate and aimed towards your goal. Make 2014 a year for success and stick to your goals!

 

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

