Thankful Thanksgiving

by Brenda Kunz, corps member serving at Henry Wilson Elementary School

Hey there! It’s Thanksgiving time again!

pumpkin

Although many of us may think of Thanksgiving as feasting on turkey (or tofurkey, if that’s your style), fall colors, and a beautiful autumn landscape, there is much more to the true meaning of the holiday. To me, Thanksgiving is about realizing what you are thankful for in your own life and holding those memories dear to us. We are all thankful for someone or a particular experience throughout our lives. We are all the person we are today because of special experiences and circumstances. NOW is an important time to reflect on these experiences and special individuals in our lives. Deep breath in, deep breath out, and let the reflecting begin.

Here at Wilson elementary school, the Wilson team has a whole lot to give thanks to as Thanksgiving approaches. Each day, as we zip up our red jackets and lace up our boots, we remember to be thankful that we are a part of City Year New Hampshire. As we meet the rest of the corps each morning, we remember to be thankful for the idea of One City Year – the idea of inclusivity and connection as an entire site. As our team drives to school, we remember to be thankful for our spirited teammates and remarkable team leaders. We are thankful for our partner teachers and for our students that we interact with on a day-to-day basis. When our partner teachers provide us support, patience and guidance, we are thankful. When a student we are tutoring shows improvement, we are thankful. Most of all, we remember to be thankful for our incredible opportunity to serve here in the great city of Manchester, New Hampshire. Giving thanks, and showing our appreciation, inspires us to continue our service of excellence.

You might be wondering what WE (the Wilson team) are thankful for…

I’m thankful for my body, mind, and soul because… I have hands and feet that can move. I have a brain that can think. I have a heart that can love!                                                            – Sarah Park

I am thankful for my parents who raised me to value my education. They both worked 5-6 days/week for the past 20 years to put my two siblings and I through 4 years of college. Without their support I wouldn’t be the man I am today.                                                            – Rich Shaughnessy

I am thankful for my friends, my family and the life that I’ve been given.                                – Amy McCarthy

I am thankful for the enthusiasm and efforts of the students of Henry Wilson Elementary School. The energy and positivity they bring everyday encourages me to do my best as well.                                                                                                                                                        – Lily Taylor

I am thankful for the family that keeps me grounded, the opportunities that keep me grateful, and for the people and surroundings that keep me hopeful. I, am grateful for life, itself.                                                                                                                                                        – Fabrice Julien

I am thankful for my family and friends because I always know they will be there when I need them.                                                                                                                                              – Paige Tucker

I am thankful that I learn something new each day. I am thankful for the opportunities that I’ve been granted thus far as well as my open heart and open mind.                                 – Brenda Kunz

As Thanksgiving approaches, don’t be afraid to reminisce. Take the time to tell those who are important to you know how thankful you are of them. Give thanks, stay humble, and realize what YOU are truly thankful for.

Turkey

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

