I Dedicate My Red Jacket…

Jonathan Ferris“I dedicate my jacket to the idea that every student, no matter their skill level, needs someone. Whether a student is at reading level z, level a, or can do calculus in their head or can’t count to 10 yet, every student needs a mentor. I’m devoting my year of service to being the role model, coach, challenger, or support that every student needs to be successful.” – Jonathan Ferris, 18, from Cumberland, ME

Nicole Mayotte“I dedicate my jacket to a dear friend’s father, who took his own life, not cognizant of the community of loving family and friends he left behind.  If only this wonderful man had been more receptive to the support that was behind him, his life could have been saved.  When I wear my jacket, I will strive to be intentional with my words and actions to encourage individuals within my community to feel a sense of belonging.” – Nicole Mayotte, 22, from Pelham, NH

Steven Buske“Every morning before I left for school my Mom would tell me that I was the most handsome boy in school. I dedicate my red jacket to her because it provided me with the encouragement and confidence to succeed. I believe every child needs the same kind of support and a friendly face to greet them into school in the morning.” – Steve Buske, 20, from Andover, CT

Cady Hickman“I dedicate my red jacket to what makes me come alive.  It’s not only the good we at City Year are doing with our students, but also growing as leaders and learners ourselves.  I’m reminded every day that all that is important in life is what makes you come alive and for me, that is City Year New Hampshire.” – Cady Hickman, 21, from Merrimack, NH

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

