Corps Member Spotlight: First Impressions

Sarah Park 2 NEW

Hello, my name is Sarah Park and I am a proud corps member serving at Henry Wilson Elementary school. During the first couple of weeks of Basic Training Academy (BTA), we learned about the Beloved Community that Martin Luther King Jr. talked about and the more I thought about it, the more I can see our City Year community embody those words. I truly feel like we are the Beloved Community and we are all more than capable of spreading it throughout the six different schools we serve here at City Year New Hampshire. It is very interesting that while one person might not be enough to make a difference, collectively, we are a strong and powerful force. When we come together united with one goal, we can definitely make a positive impact in Manchester.

In addition to the great experience we had in the first week of Basic Training Academy, Basic Training Retreat (BTR) was a whole different experience altogether. We finally found out our team that we will be serving with over the course of our ten months of service and we focused on a lot of team building, which I really enjoyed. There was so much positive energy that there was no room for negativity.  I thrived off everyone’s high spirit during the first couple of weeks, which made my experiences very memorable so far. During BTR, I realized that our team was like a smaller version of the bigger community of City Year New Hampshire. It sounds very intuitive, but I caught myself being so drawn to this idea and the more I thought about it, the more it became clear to me. We as a team also need one goal and a strong unifying bond to operate just like the bigger community does. The team activities really shed a strong light to how we are all very capable of working together which makes me look forward to the school year.

I am so excited to be placed in my team because I am extremely confident that whatever challenges we face, we will always come back to the bigger community, the Beloved Community, and find our common goal in serving the youth. We’re going to have an awesome year!

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

