A Stream of Thought

Written by Brandi Worley, 22 years old from Fayetteville, NC, serving on The Heinemann Team at Henry Wilson Elementary School.

DSC_0702“Reflect on these moments as they are coming to a close,” said Molly Smith, a corps member at Beech Street Elementary School.

Words from one corps member to another that have resonated with me.  The end is near and I can feel the pressure rising in my tear ducts.  The bittersweet feeling of ending an intense learning experience as well as saying a farewell to children who demanded I care for them.  As my days go from double digits to single, I cannot help but reflect. Reflection on laughs with teammates in our car rides to and from school, tense moments with students who now hug me tighter as each day passes, or rewarding hardships that I won’t ever regret.  Yes, at times I grow excited about my upcoming endeavors, but then moments of brief sadness take over where I realize I have to say good-bye.  Bittersweet moments are all I have as of now, and I must say these moments were worth the travel.

In the end, small things that mattered for short time periods don’t even grace my knowledge as I look in the faces of my kids, peers, and surrounding community members. New experiences like climbing my first mountain, snow that covered my feet completely, and friendships that helped me survive severe homesickness, all contribute to the new me, Brandi Worley.

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

