Kids Say the Darndest Things pt.2

Written by Dianne Guerrier, 24 years old from Orlando, FL serving on The Timberland Team at McDonough Elementary School.

ist2_5823844-vector-kids-hand-and-feet-printsIf you read part one, then you know that the children at McDonough Elementary School continue to fill my days with random hilarity and countless memories. I have taken the liberty of writing some of the more memorable sayings of our students down because as I said before, Bill Cosby said it best: Kids Say the Darndest Things!

This blog will be dedicated to a few more of the most interesting things that have been heard at McDonough Elementary School so far and have made it into my yearlong journal of this year’s service. Also, if you haven’t read part one, while you’re scrolling through the other blogs on our site, go ahead and take a look!

Student: (at lunch) “I love eggs! …but I can’t eat them because they make me sick. Its so frustrating!

Teacher: “Okay, let’s turn our brains on!”
Student: “You can touch your brain?!” *sticks finger in ear* “I can’t feel it..”

Student: “Ms. G., I’m excited for gym today!”
Me: “Really? And why is that?”
Student: “Because I got some new sneakers and I’m as fast as a roadrunner with these!”
[an hour later, he’s slowly walking up the stairs]
Me: “Hey, are you okay?”
Student: “Yeah. The sneakers only make me run fast. They don’t make me walk fast.”

Student 1: “I’ve been using a lot of tissues the past two days because of my allergies.”
Student 2: “Yeah, me too… I’m allergic to life.”

Student: “I think Christopher Columbus should be from Columbia.”
Me: “But you know he’s from Spain, right?”
Student: “Yeah, well I think he should be from Columbia. His name’s Columbus.”

Student: *holds up football* “This football right here represents the sport of New Hampshire.”
Me: “Oh, really?”
Student: “Yupp. This football represents the sport of the United States.”
Me: “Wait. Is it the sport of New Hampshire or the United States?”
Student: Oh. Both, I guess.”

Class: “Do we have homework tonight?”
Teacher: “We went on the field trip today so no homework tonight.”
Student 1: *whisper yells* “YES!! NO HOMEWORK!”
Student 2: “Shhhh! You’ll ruin it!”

Student: “This place should have cafeteria rights!”
Me: “Cafeteria rights? What do you mean?”
Student: “I mean, we should all be allowed to sit where we want! Oh and eat what we want too!”

Student: “You know what would be really sad? If you had a hundred dollar bill and the wind blew and took it and it ended up in the wood chipper. That would be really sad.”

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

