Kids Say the Darndest Things

ist2_5823844-vector-kids-hand-and-feet-printsOne of my favorite aspects of the service that I do is the interactions that I get to have with not only my third graders but with all the students at my school. The students at McDonough Elementary School provide me with daily joys and continuously fill my days with hilarity. I, Dianne Guerrier, have countless memories thus far because let’s face it, Bill Cosby said it best: Kids Say the Darndest Things! This blog will be devoted to a few of the most interesting things that have been heard at McDonough Elementary School so far.

2nd grader: “Why are we going in squares?”  (said as the bus driver circled the block looking for a parking spot)

Me: “Are you okay? Why are you crying?”

Student: “I’m not crying. *sniffles* My eyes are just leaking.”

Me: “Do you speak Spanish?”

Kindergartener: “I used to be a pro but I don’t remember anymore.”

Guest Speaker from Urban Wildlife: “Has anyone ever been to a cave and maybe seen a bat or two?”

Student: “Well, I’ve never been to a cave but one night, I woke up and there was a bat flying around my living room.”

Urban Wildlife: “How did it get in your living room?”

Student: “I don’t know.”

Urban Wildlife: “We’re going to look at an animal and I need you to be good to it because its smaller than all of you.”

Student: “Is it dead or alive?”

Student: “What happens when you put a jalapeño in snow?”

Teacher: “Nothing. It’s still a jalapeño.”

Student: “You mean it doesn’t change?!”

Student: “Miss G. I don’t want to play football anymore because the other team is practically cheating.”

Me: “Practically cheating? How are they practically cheating?”

Student:  “They have all the best players so they may as well be cheating.”

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

