It’s an Experience!

-Written by Amanda Forget, 22, from Cumberland, RI serving on the Gossler Park Team co-sponsored by Catholic Medical Center and Lincoln Financial Foundation

I always find that when I am visiting home someone seems to dwell on how many hours I put in during the week. It’s funny though, that thought doesn’t come to my mind nearly as much as people think. Family and friends are always wondering if I’m exhausted or if I still love what I do after working day in and out with students.  The answer, quite frankly is yes.

There is no way to really describe it to anyone who is not experiencing it for themselves. Giving someone a five minute introduction to what City Year is as an organization barely skims the surface of the multitudes of experiences and lessons we learn and give as Corps Members throughout the year.

Being inside of a classroom and working with children is such an unspoken wonder. It’s time. It’s effort. It’s tiring. It’s inspiring. It’s beneficial. It’s crazy. It’s rewarding. It’s helping. Someone is always benefiting from my presence in Gossler Park Elementary School.

5G7A9805The culture of City Year itself is another huge piece of why I love the volunteer work I am doing. The energy and enthusiasm is something I’m afraid to leave. It makes me feel so much a part of something that I’m afraid I’ll never find something like it again. Just thinking that these four months here have changed my perspectives and choices about life already gives me the reinforcement and reassurance that City Year has made an immense impact on my life.  I look forward to embracing experiences that this new year brings!

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

