In A Blink of an Eye

As we get closer to the Holiday break, I see this upcoming time useful for reflection. Hello all, this is Brandi Worley once again reporting from Henry Wilson Elementary School. Being a part of the FY13 corps has given me much more perspective about who I am and where I want to go in life. With that said, I’m not completely sure of my next step exactly, but I do know the course I wish my life to take. Working with others who are different from me has made me constantly ask for feedback, approach situations differently and actively try to be a better person.

When I first came to City Year, I only wanted to become a better leader and thought everything else would be a fun byproduct. However, the more I find myself working to be an effective leader in the classroom, the more I see myself growing into the woman I want to be. A huge part of my growth stems from my relationships with  my program manager, my wonderful team and a few close friendships I’ve fostered. Brandon Chaderton, the program manager for Henry Wilson and McDonough Elementary schools, has played an essential part in my development by sharing advice like “wait ten seconds before speaking to give others who are a little shyer a chance to be heard” or ” be honest and tactful.” Even though at times I regretted asking for the feedback, it has helped me exponentially.

My powerful team always reminds me that I’m human and that we are all on a journey to be better tomorrow than we were the day before. For example, many of the frustrations that I’ve had with my team so far have forced me to find another way to communicate and have made us more cohesive. For that, I view my team as the rock that holds me steady. Each person plays an essential role in my development, whether they know it or not. My friendships that have been forged over time are just that, friendships! I know that it takes me awhile to trust people and to create a place for them in my life. The corps members who know me best have allowed me to be silly, intelligent, brutally honest as well as free to be me. I wasn’t expecting to find that here. They are a very pleasant surprise.

Now that we’re halfway through the year, I eagerly await time with my loved ones and friends at home, as they will help me make sense of my new path in life. Even more excitedly, I wait to see where the rest of the year will guide me. Mind blowing conversations, further connections, and understanding of others are what I hope to build myself around. I know more intense days are to come, but I happily welcome them as those are the times that make people strong and insightful. I suppose all of my thoughts bring me back to my favorite CY culture piece as well as the way I strive to live my life – Ubuntu, which means, my humanity is tied to yours.

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

