8:20am Gratitude

Hi everyone! Its Jesula Charles again! The proud member of the energetic and always excited Comcast NBCUniversal sponsored family at Bakersville Elementary. I currently serve in an incredible classroom with 28 powerful 5th grade minds that are helping me grow with their thirst for learning. Every morning, I greet my students and hear their entertaining news reports in morning greeting with a handshake and smile, indicating the start of a new day with much adventure to come. My days are filled with their questions, opinions, and ideas on everything from homework to new math and reading lessons.  At times, my students even teach me hip new trends and jargon to make sure I am a “cool” City Year.

The opportunity to work with so many eclectic personalities, future leaders and a teacher who believes in and loves her work is the reason I am thankful this Thanksgiving holiday! So when given the opportunity to also voice their gratitude in honor of the upcoming holiday, my 5th graders did not hesitate to make their thoughts memorable. I hope you enjoy!

“I am thankful for being in 5th grade and for being a student at Bakersville because the teachers create activities that let me be creative especially during writing workshop.”

“I am thankful for my family, health and cheer leading team.”

“I am thankful for my artistic abilities that my Dad gave me.”

“I am thankful for my birthday and have little brothers who I can be a positive role model to.”

“I am thankful for my roots, my mom, Grandmother and all the women in my family who help create me.”

“I am thankful for soccer because it helps keep me fit and healthy.”

“I am thankful for football because it’s fun. I am also thankful for hunting and fishing because it’s cool and gives me the chance to learn and share my experiences.”

“I am thankful for dancing, music and my mom because I was born from a boombox.”

“I am thankful for the City Years at Bakersville!”

“I am thankful for my family, my job, awesome students whom have diverse personalities and want to learn.” -Ms.Morrill

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

