Passion, Inspiration and Advice: Reflections on My Team’s Visit to Comcast NBCUniversal

Comcast NBCUniversal Team

Hi again everyone! My name is Jesula Charles and I serve on the Comcast NBCUniversal Team in a 5th grade classroom at Bakersville Elementary School. Last week, my team and I had the opportunity to spend time during lunch with our team sponsor, Comcast NBCUniversal. The lunch proved more relaxing than my nerves anticipated and I walked away with more than a meal and an introduction to the company. My team and I received life advice.

Entering the Comcast corporate office was a bit nerve racking at first. I have never had lunch with important corporate employees from a renowned worldwide company before. I didn’t know what to expect – Would they like us? Were we expected to know all about their cable, phone and internet services? My worries soon evaporated when we were greeted with the inviting smiles of more than 15 employees. They all seemed excited and anxious to meet and learn about us and our service.

As the lunch commenced, employees began to share stories of their upbringing, life choices that brought them to Comcast NBCUniversal and life lessons they hoped we would benefit from. Passion seemed to be the underlying theme of the lunch. The employees were more than simply content with their career choice; they were in love with their job. They stressed to us to never settle in a career for the salary and the importance of hard work and perseverance. But the most important advice I received was learning to accept that life will take individuals on different paths as we follow our passions. It is okay to not know exactly where I am going, life is an adventure and every day will serve as a learning experience.

My team was honored to gain this insight and pleased to learn about other service organizations that many of the employees support.  They all believed in service and understood the importance and impact through their investment in organizations and movements similar to City Year that work to mentor and inspire youth.

In our conversations, my team and I spoke of our life experiences, shared what led us to serve with City Year, what we have learned from and love about Bakersville and communicated our hopes and dreams as young adults.. The Comcast NBCUniversal employees commended us on our impact and some even mentioned how they wished they had an opportunity to give a year of service at our age or wished they had City Year in their lives growing up.

The opportunity to meet and have lunch with Comcast NBCUniversal employees and the gratitude they shared has made my service even more worthwhile.  It served as an adrenaline rush and extra push to strive for the best as I serve the Manchester community.

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

