Basic Training Retreat: Corps Members

Camp Berea

Not too long ago, our corps traveled to Camp Berea for our Basic Training Retreat, where corps members were placed in their school based teams and introduced to trainings and team building activities that would equip them for their first day of school.  I asked Corps Members about their experiences and here is what some of them had to say:

“Basic Training Retreat was a great way to ‘step out of my box.’ I learned many new values I will take with me for the rest of my life as well as memories and friends.” – Amanda Forget, Corps Member serving at Gossler Park Elementary School

“It amazes me how so many individuals from different places, cultures and with different personalities and goals can come together and serve for a purpose greater than themselves.” – Joshua Merritt, Corps Member serving at Gossler Park Elementary School

“Basic Training Retreat was a great recharge for me.  Finally figuring out what the new Parker-Varney team would look like and building relationships was amazing. The retreat left me inspired and ready for the year.” – Andy Jordan, Team Leader at Parker-Varney Elementary School

“Basic Training Retreat was a rollercoaster ride of fun, discovery of one’s self and others, and knowledge!  I can’t wait to see the future unravel itself as I serve with Henry Wilson team this year!” – Ju Lin, Corps Member serving at Henry Wilson Elementary School

“Basic Training Retreat gave me the opportunity to meet the inspiring people I will be working and growing with this year.  It gave me so much to look forward to and the tools to do an outstanding job worthy of a City Year Corps Member.” – Elizabeth Curette, Corps Member serving at Henry Wilson Elementary School

“Basic Training Retreat was the first time I saw my team together.  They exceeded every hope I had.  Each day with my team is increasingly inspirational.  Their energy fuels my service and reflects the strength of our entire corps, site and one City Year.” –Andrietta Teixeira, Team Leader at Bakersville Elementary School

“Basic Training Retreat had to have been one of the greatest things that’s ever happened.  I learned so much from all the Team Leaders and staff that’s going to set me up to have a successful year at Henry Wilson and I’m looking forward to seeing how this year turns out.” – Dustin Rivard, Corps Member serving at Henry Wilson Elementary School

Check out this wordle to see what else corps members had to say about their experiences.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

