Awwwoooohh: Wilson Wolfpacks Coming Together

The City Year Wilson Team
2011-2012

“It makes me tear up just thinking about it. I’ve never felt so at home somewhere that was so far away from the home I always knew (back in Florida). My teacher became like a mom to me and principal was always there with a hug and a smile. I couldn’t have made it through my corps year in tact without that kind of support. I loved every day at that school and have missed it every day since leaving. It is truly a one-of-a-kind place and I know I’ll never find anything quite like it. To the future City Year Wilson team, bring energy and enthusiasm to the school every single day. The students, faculty and staff deserve nothing less than everything you’ve got – so give it to them, even if it means pushing yourself a little (or a lot) harder than you wanted to that day or even thought you could.  With that, you are capable of so much more than you can even imagine. When you think you’ve reached your limit, go further.” – Abbi McFarlane, Corps Member 2010-2011

Rebecca Hey

“As an alumnus, I have an endless amount of respect for everyone at Wilson School for it is one of the most loving and supportive places I have ever been.  Even on my most challenging days as a corps member, I felt that all of us were there for the same reason, to make things better for our students. One of my favorite memories was when I was walking down the hallway to make photocopies and I passed by a first grade class on their way to lunch. Suddenly, one student hopped out of line and gave me a hug. Next thing I know, each student in line gave me a hug as they walked by, and I didn’t even know them! It was one of the most unexpected and lovely moments of my life.”- Rebecca Hey, Corps Member 2011-2012

City Year Wilson Team
2011 – 2012

”One thing I learned from being a part of the Wilson Community is that teacher’s and all staff at elementary school’s have more than a notion of work to do, at all times. I learned from my teachers that you cannot let the workload and unfortunate life events scare you away from what you have committed yourself to. If you are passionate about inspiring young students in any capacity then you grab the workload by the horns and tackle it head on.” – Robert Lloyd, Corps Member 2011-2012

Ricardo Esquivias & Abbi McFarlane

“I will always have a special place for Wilson in my heart.  I thoroughly enjoyed working collaboratively with teachers and staff and found joy in giving back to a community of people who have forever change how I view and work with children.  For showing me constant support, love, and an experience rich with passion and laughter, thank you Wilson for allowing City Year into your arms.  I’m proud to have served with you these last two years.” – Ricardo Esquivias, Corps Member 2010-2011 & Team Leader 2011-2012

Chelsea Bihlmeyer

“I learned that one of the things that separates the students we serve from the students that are not served by City Year is the amount of attention they receive. After working with very privileged children for a summer, I noticed that material possessions are not the only kind of wealth that some children receive. The care, attention, and hands on coaching and teaching make a huge difference in a child’s life. The kids we serve at Wilson are, in most cases, under-served in that aspect and you can’t help but want to give them that love in their lives. They deserve it! One of my most memorable memories is when my student talked to me in sign language. He signed ‘you and me together forever’.” – Chelsea Bihlmeyer, Corps Member 2011-2012

School Mural

“The very first time I saw Wilson Elementary school, I knew that only a very special school could be housed in such a uniquely beautiful building. That same day, when I met Linda Durand for the first time, I knew that this was the school to which I wanted to give my year of service. Wilson is one of the most loving, caring, supportive, and persevering schools I have ever encountered. I was so fortunate and grateful to be able to work with such kind and open administrative and faculty teams, and I will forever cherish the time I got to spend supporting Wilson’s unforgettable students.” –Amber Siddle-Manas, Team Leader 2010-2011

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

