A Letter To Incoming Corps Members

Credit to Catt Trimmingham

Dear Incoming Corps Member!!!

First of all, welcome to one of the most exciting, exhausting, fulfilling, exhausting, engaging, exhausting, amazing, and exhausting jobs you will probably every have! Nearly every day I am reminded of my amazing time with City Year, whether it be through the friends I still keep in touch with, reminders of how whatever I am doing now is not nearly as exhausting as that year, or talking about my time with the students and Parker-Varney Panther Team.

I hope that all of these exhausting’s aren’t frightening you, because they shouldn’t be. It is just a truth of the job. However, there is nothing more fulfilling than looking down at my wrist everyday where I wear a bracelet that two of my favorite students gave me on our last day at school. Those kids will make your heart bigger, your patience stronger, and your joy reach heights you’ve never experienced before. They are what make the job worth doing, that and the amazing team you will hopefully have!

I still frequently talk to my leader, my PM, and several of my teammates. My roommate from my City Year remains to be one of my best friends in the entire world and I treasure the experience for connecting me with such incredible people.

If you’re not from the east coast, I am from Washington, be prepared for some crazy weather!! Those days in August and September were some of the hottest, sweatiest days of my life! The fall was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen, which sort of made up for the future months of cold and snow that were coming. Be prepared to bundle up for work and enjoy that literally breathtaking cold.

Basically, City Year will change your life. I hope that you can take every opportunity they give you and enjoy it. Volunteer on the weekends, go to the amazing cultural festivals around town, hike in the incredible mountains, and grub out on Elm St.! I often have moments where I am overwhelmed with gratitude for my City Year and immediately begin to miss my teammates, the CY Staff and my students most of all!

Enjoy your year, and say hi to Alex and Pawn because although they are rather intimidating being the creators of CYNH and all, they are such incredible people and can help you far beyond your City Year!

-Britt Langston, Former Parker-Varney Panther and Forever CYNH Alum 10′-11′

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

