Why I Chose City Year: A Confirmed Corps Member’s Perspective

Melissa Barbrie

Meet Melissa Barbrie, 2012-2013 incoming corps member with City Year New Hampshire.

College: University of New Hampshire (Durham)

Major: Family Studies, Child Advocacy

Hometown: Manchester, NH

Barbrie is one of four confirmed corps members who were selected as part of our September 30th application deadline. Below Barbrie shares her motivation and interest for joining City Year New Hampshire.

Why do you want to be a City Year corps member?

I want to be a City Year corps member because I want to change the world. I want to work on a team where everyone shares my passion about making the lives of children better.

Knowing you could apply to any City Year site, why did you select New Hampshire?

I selected to serve in New Hampshire because I have grown up here and know a lot about this state, particularly policies related to education. There is no better place for me to begin in my journey to initiate change than somewhere where I am comfortable and familiar.

What lead you to want to apply to City Year?

I loved the idea of service but wasn’t quite sure what program I wanted to do. The minute I heard about City Year I knew it was for me. Gaining leadership skills, working with motivated peers, and decreasing the high school dropout rate in New Hampshire is exactly what I want to do at this point in my life.

What aspect of service are you most looking forward to with City Year?

I am most looking forward to the collaboration with the community during my service year. I think community involvement is one of the biggest keys to not only decreasing the dropout rate, but also creating a better environment for families and everyone in the area.

How will City Year help prepare you for your future career?

City Year will help prepare me for my future career by furthering my leadership skills, improving my problem solving skills, but most importantly by immersing me in an environment that my four years of studying child advocacy have prepared me for. Being in the field actually helping a school, school district, and community will give me skills that I would never be able to learn in a classroom.

What would you tell someone who is interested in applying to City Year?

I would tell them that this is a once in a lifetime opportunity, which is made clear the minute you meet anyone who has served in the past. Applying for City Year is a step toward bringing all of your knowledge and passion to a group of individuals and working together to begin to change the world.

If you are interested in joining City Year apply online at

www.cityyear.org/applynow.

For more information contact us at nhrecruitment@cityyear.org or 603-218-5101.

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

