Open House Impact

As I drove to Manchester with my parents from my home on the New Hampshire Seacoast, all I could think about was what I was going to do after I graduated High School. Why would I go to college when I wasn’t even sure what I wanted to do with my life? I had heard a little about City Year and looked on their website, but I wasn’t sure exactly what it was all about. City Year told me about an Open House, and decided I should go check it out for myself. When I got there, I found a trail of Timberland boots with bright yellow and red balloons tied to them that led me upstairs. I was greeted by who else, but the people in the red jackets. Hearing their stories and experiencing their enthusiasm for service was truly inspiring. After watching a video and talking more to those who were there, it became more and more clear that this was the place for me. So I took an application, and on the drive home all I could think about was City Year.

That was two years ago. It’s hard to believe that since then I have done so much! During my first service year I: worked in a 3rd grade classroom, created an after school program, helped organized a week long camp during February vacation, and led a group of middle school students on Saturdays in a service learning program about social issues. This year I am: outreaching to local schools to get them involved with City Year, organizing our Open Houses, running workshops for schools and organizations in the area, and many other projects within the Recruitment Department. It’s funny how I am now planning the very Open House that I attended when I was thinking about applying. Hopefully I can inspire someone in the same way I was inspired.

These experiences have truly changed my life, and I am forever thankful. If I had not gone to a City Year Open House two years ago, I don’t think I would be where I am today. Strange to think that one Open House set my life onto this path. I don’t know where this path will lead, but I can’t wait for it to unfold, and what better way to start than with City Year.

Thanks for reading,                                                                                                                            -John Hathaway

If you would like to attend an Open House, please contact me, John Hathaway (jhathaway11@cityyear.org) to RSVP. See this Flyer for more information. Our Open House dates are on November 1, 2011, February 2, 2012, and April 20, 2012 . Hope to see you there!

About johnhathaway11pl

Hey, I'm John, I am 19 years old from Stratham NH. I am a Project Leader in the Recruitment Department of City Year New Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

