The First Service Day

 

Earlier this month (August) my team and I planned the first service day for City Year New Hampshire. This was one of my first assignments as a newly appointed Project Leader. It was a new and growing experience in many ways. I learned new computer skills, how to manage my peers, advanced logistics work,  and a lot of other very useful skills that will be put to good use in the future.

We had the service day at our newest school partner, McDonough Elementary. The black top was pretty bare when we arrived but by the end of the day it was colorful and revitalized! I have done a good amount of transformative service and this was one of my absolute favorites. We revamped the 4 square, hopscotch, basketball courts and racing lines that were really faded.  My favorite part of the service was adding in things that were not there before. We created a U.S. map, a clock, and some number and letter snakes for the kids. It’s great to create playground activities that can be both fun and educational.

As with most things, the project had its fair share of ups and downs but in the end it ended up being a big success! I’m very proud of everyone involved and can not wait to plan the next service day. Above are some before and after pictures of the U.S. map, hopscotch, and 4 square projects. Below is a link to a full slide show of the day that showcases all of the projects from beginning to end and the 2011-2012 corps that did them. I highly recommend watching it, you will not regret it!

First Service Day Slideshow

Thank you for reading

Quinci

About quinciworthey

Hello there, My name is Quinci. I am 23 years old and hail from Jackson, MI. I am currently serving with City Year New Hampshire as a Project Leader.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The First Service Day

  1. Paul says:

    There’s nothing quite as beautiful as a freshly painted US map on a blacktop. I’m glad to hear that CYNH is serving in another school and already doing great work!

    -Paul

Leave a Reply

