A Day of Inspiration

Recently, I spent a day with the CYNH Corps at Parker-Varney Elementary School. As a committed member for the 2011-2012 year, I was excited to get a chance to experience the kind of work I would be doing in my service year. From the moment I met the corps members outside of the school, their warmth and infectious passion got me excited for a day of service. Each City Year member carried themselves with a strong sense of pride and purpose for the work that they do, and this was immediately evident during their readiness check and while interacting with the students before the school day began.

            In the classroom, I was surprised at how well the students reacted to me. When the students were told that I was a confirmed corps member for next year, they got very excited and asked if I would be in their class. Their warm reception of me was such a strong testimony to the work of City Year. The students knew me for only a short period of time, but since I was wearing a City Year vest (generously lent to me by a corps member) they were enthusiastic and eager to be around me. For these kids, the bright red hue of the City Year uniform shows them a fun, inspiring, dedicated and positive role model.

            I joined City Year because doing service and helping others is my greatest passion, and I think that one of the best ways to help the world as a whole is to reach out to kids. In just one day with City Year, I saw just how much of a difference a few dedicated people can make. Later that evening I was bubbling with excitement and inspiration, talking about my day to anyone who would listen. Before this experience I was firmly decided in serving with City Year New Hampshire, but now there is no doubt in my mind that I made the right decision. I’m looking forward to a life changing year!

Written by Future 2011-2012 CYNH Corps Member-Rebecca Hey

About CityYear NH

City Year is a nonprofit that unites young people of all backgrounds for a demanding year of full-time service. As tutors, mentors, and role models, these idealistic leaders make a difference in the lives of children, and transform schools and neighborhoods across the US and in South Africa. For more information on how to get involved please call the City Year New Hampshire Recruitment hotline at 603-218-5101.
This entry was posted in Parker Varney. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

