Exploring Possibilities…

Last week, I had the privilege of being a team leader for a group of 3rd to 5th grade campers at the City Year Winter Camp on the East side of Manchester. The camp was a mixture of kids from Wilson, Bakersville, and Beech St., so I was lucky enough to hang out with kids from the schools I do not work in and have heard so much about from my fellow Corps members. I also got to interact with kids from my own school but in a much different environment.

For the week, the students in 5 of Manchester’s elementary schools got to be CY explorers exploring the possibilities of making a positive difference on world around them in successively bigger chunks. First in their own school communities, then their country, the continent and finally the world. Along the way learning to work as a team, facts about other countries, people who made a positive difference, as well as how to fold origami cranes and creating a continent of their very own.

As for my own experience, I can say I went home very tired every night, but it was quite worth it. Especially when so many kids told how much they loved camp. I was able to bond with kids I had never really interacted before and it makes me smile and feel warm inside any time I see kids at my school wave at me because we hung out or played games with each other at camp. I’m looking forward to working the spring camps and I know many of the kids are extremely excited to attend.

-Eric

About ebeaton

Hi, I am Eric Beaton. I'm the oldest of six kids and the grandchild of immigrants from Spain and Cuba. In May 2010, I graduated from Azusa Pacific University with a BA in Political Science. I played football in college and play the bass guitar as a hobby. My home town is La Verne, CA which I left in August 2010 to join CYNH in Manchester, NH as a first year Corps member(I am currently a Senior Corps Member). I drove across the country to get here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of seeing a lot of places I had never been. I hope to travel abroad to many different places around the world in the future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

