Love is all you need

What role does love play in service? Each morning I ask for love to guide my actions, speech and thoughts, but I’ve never really given too much thought as to how love fits into service.

Upon asking a corps member what role does love play in their service she responded, “City Year has been one of the most challenging and rewarding experiences of my life. I have so much love and respect for the people at CYNH, and every day I’m grateful to be working with such supportive and inclusive individuals.  The love that I have for our site, and the love that I have for the kids in New Hampshire has inspired me to pursue my dreams and live a life of purpose.”

When I think about her quote and I think about my service I feel wonderful. I’ve never been a part of ‘something’ that makes me feel so good at the end of the day. There hasn’t been one time that I’ve woken up lamenting the fact that I have to drag myself from my peaceful slumber to head into work. In fact, I never feel like what I am doing is work I feel so great about the service I do and I see it as an opportunity and a privilege. When I think about how love fits in my life and how it fits in my service (especially today) I think of how I don’t mind waking up in the morning (If anyone knows me they know I’m not a morning person).

Tongue and cheek aside, when I reflect on how love fits in my service I think of how I want all of my students to succeed and how if I could I would guarantee that they will all become college graduates.

I think of my team and the amazing individuals that are the Bulldogs. I think of how I love each member and how after this year is done I know, for certain, I will not only be a better person because of my ‘dawgs’ but I will also be a better team player because a young man couldn’t ask for a better team.

I think of City Year as a whole and when I think about how love fits into my feelings towards this amazing organization I think of my past. I think of where I grew up and how if a City Year was in my classrooms some of my peers would still be around, I think of how if I had a City Year how much more confident and secure with myself I would be, and I think of how many more students of color and similar economic status from my neighborhood would know that college is within reach, one must only extend to attain it.

I leave you all with one of my favorite quotes on love. “In the end the love you take is equal to the love you make” – Put it all in and don’t be afraid to love.

Peace and Love,

Jeff

About jeffreysierra11cm

I Serve because there are children that the future will forget about. I Serve in hopes that we [City Year] can be the catalyst for positive educational reform. I serve because it is the right thing to do. Greeting Friends, Brothers and Sisters! My name is Jeff Sierra, I am a 23 year old young adult from Norwalk, CT; hearts in Philly ; but my home for the next ten months is Manchester, NH. I am passionate about service and helping others. I enjoy reading, love to walk, and like to learn about new cultures. It is my hope this year to try and bring my best into everything I do. If I can impact one student and let them know that their dreams are truly attainable I will feel validated and know that I accomplished my goal. Please follow my blog, drop me a message, or comment on a post. Peace and Love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love is all you need

  1. RicardoEsquivias11CM says:

    Beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

