“When I Change The World”

“When I Change The World”

I’ll borrow tranquility from a moon lit starry night

I’ll borrow gracefulness from a bird in flight

I’ll borrow passionate gentleness from a child’s hand

and dispense to the world at my delight

__________________________________

I’ll gather strength from the eye of a hurricane

I’ll gather force from a volcano’s veins

I’ll gather desire from the homeless and needy

so all mankind can share and gain

__________________________________

I’ll give boldness equivalent to August’s sun

I’ll hush scorn, rage, remember always where I’m from

I’ll freeze hatred with a blizzard’s mighty drift

to any evil force I’ll never succumb

_________________________________

With all that I’ve gathered, given and borrowed

I will have shaped the world for better tomorrows

We’re transformed now and ready to live

in peace, in love, sharing life, no sorrows

-Billy E. Worthey

This poem was written by my late father. A very close friend of mine brought this poem to my attention. It really relates to City Year and what I’m trying to do here, shape the world for better tomorrows.

I hope you all enjoyed-

Quinci

About quinciworthey

Hello there, My name is Quinci. I am 23 years old and hail from Jackson, MI. I am currently serving with City Year New Hampshire as a Project Leader.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “When I Change The World”

  1. Lauren Cozzi says:

    I really enjoyed reading this poem.

Leave a Reply

