A Good Refresher

Waiting for “Superman” is a film directed by Davis Guggenheim and produced by Lesley Chilcott that examines the current state of American public education.  On Friday, CYNH had the opportunity to view this film and reflect on how it’s message can impact our service.

Throughout and after the film, I needed comfort from my mission, to give back and contribute to peace, and my mentors humility, soft-spoken presence, pride and loving aura.  I asked myself, what can I do?  How can I make a difference?  I looked to my support, the two pillars that keep me standing tall, my inspirations that brought me to CY and national service for guidance.  Thank you, because what I appreciated most from Waiting for “Superman” was that it did not motivate, but rather, bring me back to a place of groundedness.  It made me appreciate my blessings and opportunity to work in a classroom, to see myself as an agent of change.  This film reinforced my belief that I can make a difference by helping my students with reading, understand concepts in math, have a dialogue about their stories and invest in their future by being there for them.
 
—Restore the balance – Ricardo 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wilson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

