Eye-Opening

This past week was such an eye-opening time for me. Veteran’s Day was on Thursday and we as a site volunteered to help during the NH State Veterans Ceremony. During the ceremony I decided to walk around and read the tombstones and epitaphs of the fallen soldiers. Seeing the ages they were when they fought in wars was nuts. Some were younger than I am now and were fighting in WWII.

What really got to me was that there were soldiers who were younger than me that were buried there.  I guess I never really thought of soldiers as being just like me; a person with friends, a family, their whole lives ahead of them. When I thought of them before, I pictured some hardcore guy like in the movies, but these men and women are just everyday people like me and you.

Later in the week everyone in CYNH watched the movie/documentary, “Waiting For Superman”. It provides some great insight on the education crisis. I was really moved by it and inspired to continue doing what I’m doing her;, battling that drop out rate one day at a time and providing a positive role model to children.

Here is a link to the film’s trailer, I hope it sparks you to go check it out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKTfaro96dg

Thanks for stopping by,

Quinci

About quinciworthey

Hello there, My name is Quinci. I am 23 years old and hail from Jackson, MI. I am currently serving with City Year New Hampshire as a Project Leader.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

