Mighty Milers: Running a Mile With My Kids



Over the past month, the kids at Wilson Elementary School logged how many miles they walked or ran for a program called “Mighty Milers,” which challenges todays youth to run/walk 26 miles.  Kids who completed 25 miles by the 4th got the chance to run two laps around the Fisher Cats Stadium, completing their marathon.

On this day, I thought deeply about my role and influence as a tutor, mentor and role model to students in and out of my classroom.  I thought about how to them, I am CITY YEAR! On some days, not even Mr. Ricardo, but on this rainy day, I wasn’t helping them, or providing extra one-on-one attention, I was achieving the same goals they were and because of this,  was honored to finish the race with my schoolmates.

To put it simply, I had a blast! It was raining and we pushed through. Some of the hilarious things they would say to me were, “Ricardo, I am going to die.” “I think my ribs are broken.” “Why, Ricardo, why?”
 
I will never forget their faces as they completed their two laps and the moment they received their medals for finishing the marathon.
 
Until next time,
Ricardo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mighty Milers: Running a Mile With My Kids

  1. P Gould says:

    Wonderful to read about what you are doing and to feel your beautiful spirit, humor and generosity coming through so clearly. Looking forward to more news, P

  2. RicardoEsquivias11CM says:

    PEGGY!!! Its so great to hear from you. I think of you often and am excited to know you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

