#179

"A couple great friends from home"

"A couple great friends from home"

Not to long ago I decided to go home and surprise a lot of my friends and family. It was a great time and I felt so appreciated, loved, and missed. The journey from Manchester, NH to Jackson, MI began with a bus ride from North Londonderry to Boston.  On my way, I began talking with the bus driver who asked me where I was heading. When he found out that I was from Michigan he asked the age-old question, “what are you doing out here?” I found myself talking about City Year and my role as a member here in New Hampshire.

Once I arrived at the airport, I of course had to wait for my plane . While waiting, A man noticed my brand new City Year bag on the ground in front of me. He asked me if I was a member in Boston. I corrected him and started repping New Hampshire to the fullest. Turns out this man was a corps member in Boston during City Years second year of existence. We traded information and now follow each other on Twitter, where I can keep him informed on the comings and goings of NH. It was after this encounter that I realized just how much of an ambassador of City Year I have become.

When I finally made it home I decided to visit my college, Adrian College. All of my friends were so happy to see me and were very curious about what I do. I was talking about City Year probably 60-70% of my time there. I might have even talked a friend into applying for City Year Chicago. I was really frustrated at times because saying what I do doesn’t do it justice. I wish they all could try this experience out for themselves, I think they would really dig it.

It was really hard to leave home, but I had a responsibility to the people I serve to come back. Once I got back to my current home of Manchester, I started reading through PITW’s. You are probably wonder what a PITW is….well PITW stands for Putting Idealism To Work. I stumbled upon one that really means a lot to me now, PITW #179 Become Your Message. Gandhi once said, “My life is my message.” I have found myself radiating CYNH(City Year New Hampshire) as of late.

That ties into PITW #79 “It’s never what we say, it’s always what we do.” They say actions speak louder than words. I truly have become City Year-ized. People at home noticed a change in me and were really proud of the work I’m doing. Now that I’m back, it’s time to continue trying to CHANGE the world during these next 7 months.

Thanks for reading,

Quinci

About quinciworthey

Hello there, My name is Quinci. I am 23 years old and hail from Jackson, MI. I am currently serving with City Year New Hampshire as a Project Leader.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #179

  1. ebeaton says:

    Good stuff Quinci. PITW #179 is awesome, thanks you bringing it to my attention. “Become Your Message” words to live by…

  2. IndyMae says:

    Very good Quinci, I can sense how much you enjoy your work! Keep it up, you never know where this assignment could lead!

Leave a Reply

