URGENT MESSAGE!!!

A strange phenomenon seems to have fallen over me recently. As the daylight grows shorter and the air grows colder, I feel as though my day gets longer and more strenuous, but in the same instance the weeks seem to flash by before my eyes. So strange that the day can seem to drag on but the week is gone without a second glance. Seems like yesterday school had barely begun, but were now well into October with November fast approaching. Before I know it, I might just find myself on a plane to Colorado for Thanksgiving dinner.

I have been thinking recently about how individual days seem so long, while the weeks and months fly by so quickly. I realized that, if left unnoticed, it can have a dangerous effect. It can wear you down with the hard days, slowly grinding the sense of urgency out of you as time swiftly marches on. It’s this sense of urgency in what were are doing that can keep you motivated to give your full self to those kids who need you, when the length of the day starts to weigh in on you.

In true City Year fashion I found a PITW (Putting Idealism To Work) which can speak to my situation. PITW #48: “Work calmly, but with a sense of urgency. You can change a mind, an organization, or a life–Today…RIGHT NOW!” Reading it was an amazing reminder for me to hold on to that sense of urgency while I am working, especially those really tough days or even just the tough moments. You never really know when your chance to change someones life will happen. Any moment can be a potentially life impacting one; an encouraging thought, but one that comes with a big challenge. I intend to face this challenge and as you read, my hope is that you are encouraged, as well as challenged, to treat every moment as one that could be life changing.

–Eric B.

About ebeaton

Hi, I am Eric Beaton. I'm the oldest of six kids and the grandchild of immigrants from Spain and Cuba. In May 2010, I graduated from Azusa Pacific University with a BA in Political Science. I played football in college and play the bass guitar as a hobby. My home town is La Verne, CA which I left in August 2010 to join CYNH in Manchester, NH as a first year Corps member(I am currently a Senior Corps Member). I drove across the country to get here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of seeing a lot of places I had never been. I hope to travel abroad to many different places around the world in the future.
This entry was posted in Beech Street. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to URGENT MESSAGE!!!

  1. quinciworthey11yh says:

    good job sir. i agree with the whole long days..but the weeks and months fly by comments.

Leave a Reply

