City Year what time is it?

It’s time for us to get back to the grind..

As I sit in my apartment on Sunday and reflect on how fast the weekend flew by, I wish that I had accomplished more, gotten more sleep, done more things outside, and managed to simply enjoy doing nothing. Still, these wishes are temporary, and as I gear up for tomorrow I begin to reflect on the much more serious tasks that lie ahead:

How to lead an effective morning meeting that puts my students in a good place that will set the tone for the rest of the day; how to “break-it” to three of my students with behavioral challenges that their extra recess will no longer be exclusively theirs – because we [my teacher and I] will be introducing this to the whole class as a good behavior initiative; finally, how to manage the stress of seeing students give up on themselves at such a young age.

These challenges are difficult, and City Year tries its best to prepare you for what lies ahead. However, consistent with human nature, nothing is consistent. When you hit the ground you have to be running — stumbling and falling is okay as long as you can find the strength and courage to pick yourself up and keep going.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Working with children keeps you honest. In some ways it’s scary to think that you are one of these children’s few consistencies. They know when you are there (Monday – Thursday) … never Fridays, and they expect that you will characteristically deliver the same upbeat message, that you will listen to them read, and gently encourage them when they are having a tough time.

For all the challenges that lie ahead, I find myself inspired and exhausted at the end of each day. To know that I tried makes it all worth it, and to know that I gave half of myself makes me sad.

On the eve of the week ahead I have three goals: 1) To inspire my students tomorrow at their meeting and explain to my three buddies that I am “taking away” their recess, but that in its place I am going to put them in charge of a special project. 2) To be on my A-game this week. 3) To try a little bit harder than I did last week.

Peace and Love,

Jeff

– The future belongs to those who prepare for it today. –

 

About jeffreysierra11cm

I Serve because there are children that the future will forget about. I Serve in hopes that we [City Year] can be the catalyst for positive educational reform. I serve because it is the right thing to do. Greeting Friends, Brothers and Sisters! My name is Jeff Sierra, I am a 23 year old young adult from Norwalk, CT; hearts in Philly ; but my home for the next ten months is Manchester, NH. I am passionate about service and helping others. I enjoy reading, love to walk, and like to learn about new cultures. It is my hope this year to try and bring my best into everything I do. If I can impact one student and let them know that their dreams are truly attainable I will feel validated and know that I accomplished my goal. Please follow my blog, drop me a message, or comment on a post. Peace and Love.
This entry was posted in Bakersville. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to City Year what time is it?

  1. RicardoEsquivias11CM says:

    “Working with children keeps you honest.” I love this reality in our service. It keeps us on our toes, making each day open to new findings.

Leave a Reply

