A Red October

It’s hard to believe September came and went. August 10th seems like so long ago, yet my year serving in Manchester feels like it has only just begun. Now, I find myself fast approaching the heart of October and the peak of the Fall season draws near. Fall has always been my favorite season and coming from California I find myself entranced by the changing of the leaves here in NH. My favorite trees, this time of year, are always those with leaves of red, the deeper the red the better.

They dot the landscape with their vibrant color, standing out among the other fall colors, much like our red jackets as we walk the sidewalks of Elm street here in Manchester. But, unlike those same crimson topped trees, our jackets will not fade away with winter, they will continue to dot the landscape of this city through the cold winter months and on through the spring. The red of our jackets being a bold reminder of what we are here to do and a declaration of our presence.

I’ve been serving in a 5th grade class at Beech St. Elementary for several weeks and it has been both a joyful thing and a challenging one. I have been feeling encouraged lately, because I am beginning to see that my presence in class is a positive one and I’m starting to see the impact my team is making at Beech St. I know the months ahead may hold many more challenges, but I am hopeful that my team will make a difference for the kids were serving. As long as we put on those jackets each morning ready to bring vibrant service to match the vibrant red and positive role modeling to go with that physical presence.

-Eric Beaton

About ebeaton

Hi, I am Eric Beaton. I'm the oldest of six kids and the grandchild of immigrants from Spain and Cuba. In May 2010, I graduated from Azusa Pacific University with a BA in Political Science. I played football in college and play the bass guitar as a hobby. My home town is La Verne, CA which I left in August 2010 to join CYNH in Manchester, NH as a first year Corps member(I am currently a Senior Corps Member). I drove across the country to get here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of seeing a lot of places I had never been. I hope to travel abroad to many different places around the world in the future.
This entry was posted in Beech Street. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Red October

  1. aallen11 says:

    I’m feeling it.

  2. Vrodrigues-Silva11 says:

    Eric! This is wonderful and I enjoy your comparison of the red leaves to our red jackets!

Leave a Reply

