Let the Journey Begin…

Last Friday, all of the Senior Corps Members had the opportunity to lead their Idealist Journey teams for the first time.  Idealist Journey sessions allow people from different teams to reflect on their City Year experiences, discuss current local and global issues and offer advice to one another.  As an Idealist Journey leader, I am excited to see the first year corps members grow throughout the year.  I’m prepared to lend them help if they need anything and I’m ready to listen to any concerns or challenges that they have.  Although all of the corps members and staff will be challenged in some ways throughout this year, I’m hopeful that we can use each other for support.  I also hope that my group will communicate openly and honestly with one another, so that trust and friendships can form across teams. 

 On Tuesday, Emerald and I attended the Multicultural Student Affairs Consortium at Southern New Hampshire University.  This event was a great opportunity for me to get more practice recruiting potential applicants.  I had fun answering people’s questions and telling them what City Year is and what this organization means to me.  I’m looking forward to having more opportunities to speak to people, and sharing why I chose to serve with City Year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

