Joy and Peace

The past few weeks have been filled with joy.  Two weeks ago, Emerald Anderson, the Recruitment Manager, and I led a presentation on “Power and Idealism” at the University of New Hampshire in Durham.  The students that we presented to were leaders of Wild Acts, a UNH theatre group that performs plays and skits about social justice issues.  By discussing historical events and present day happenings, Emerald and I illustrated that power and idealism can be used together to create social change.  It was interesting to hear the students speak about social injustice issues that they have witnessed and/or experienced.  I loved hearing their stories, and I really appreciate their honesty and passion for others.  Working with the Wild Acts members was a great experience for me, and I wish them the best in their future endeavors. 

 Although I’ve experienced some stress from external factors (studying for the GRE and preparing for graduate school), I was able to find peace at our Basic Training Retreat (BTR.)  The retreat, which lasted from August 23-25, was a great way for me to reflect on various things in my life–City Year, my family and the aspirations that I have for my future.

 In addition to centering myself, I enjoyed spending time with the staff and corps members.  The Basic Training Retreat is one of my favorite times of the year because it builds a trusting environment through teambuilding activities and whole group discussions.  I loved seeing the first year corps members connect with one another, and it was great to watch people get out of their comfort zone and begin to challenge themselves.  I also liked spending time with the other Project Leaders.  It’s comforting to know that even though we are all focused on different projects and have different agendas, we all share the desire to be on a team.  BTR solidified everything that I love about this site:  compassion, a commitment to one another and a desire to grow.

 Now that BTR is over, I’m excited to get back into the swing of things.  There is a lot that needs to be done in the next few weeks, but I’m eager to do it. I’m ready to learn more about the Recruitment process, and I’m excited to enhance my public speaking skills.  I’m happy to be in this peaceful mindset, and I’m looking forward to wherever it takes me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joy and Peace

  1. Emerald says:

    This is a nice post Emily. Thanks for sharing about your experiences.

Leave a Reply

