Starting Strong

Hello everyone! My name is Emily Brennan and I proudly serve as the Recruitment Project Leader at City Year New Hampshire.  This year, I am responsible for effectively communicating the mission of City Year to members of the community through presentations, meetings and open houses.  In addition to outreaching to local colleges and high schools, I will serve as a liaison to applicants, and I will communicate with people who have been offered positions in the next year’s corps.  I am looking forward to learning more about outreaching, and I am excited to acquire new skills as a leader.

 Although I’ve only been back for a month, I have experienced many joys since being back in the Granite State.  Last Tuesday marked the arrival of the first year corps members.  When they arrived, the corps members were divided into their crazy teams, a group of 6-10 first year members  led by two senior corps members.  In their crazy teams, corps members were guided through teambuilding activities, site expectations, and concepts relating to the City Year culture. Afterwards, we went to Jewett Elementary School and prepared for a day of service.  Even though the heat and humidity threatened to deteriorate our spirit, the corps members never lost their energy and eagerness to complete their service thoroughly.  The day ended great—all of our service projects were completed, and everyone seemed to have fun.  We all worked well together, and we proved that with determination and teamwork, young people can change the world.  If this day is any indicator of the rest of the year, I have no doubt that we will succeed.

 As the year beings to unfold, I feel balanced and excited.  So far, I feel confident in my new role, and I am eager to see the personal and professional growth that occurs throughout the year (in both myself and the people that I work with.)  Although I haven’t yet come up with a personal leadership statement, a description of how I want to lead this year, my hope is to be a leader who inspires others to do good. Now, let’s get started.

This entry was posted in Project Leaders. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

